Collaborative Lawyers

The Creative Divorce lawyer’s role is to support you in working towards reaching a fair solution to the issues you bring through the door.  Each of us is trained and expert in collaborative law.  Most of us are solicitors but some barristers are also able to represent clients directly as collaborative lawyers.

Your collaborative lawyer will be able to explain the process (and other options) to you and help you to decide whether collaborative law is the right approach for you. If you think it is, and your spouse or partner agrees to using the collaborative process, you will both appoint a collaborative lawyer to start the ball rolling. Your representatives will arrange the first four-way meeting, so called because there are four people present – the two of you and your two lawyers.

The first part of the process is for both of you and both lawyers to commit to resolving your dispute out of court, in the collaborative process.  Most people do manage to come to an agreement, which is then made binding by a consensual court order if appropriate.  Committing to the process at the start means that one person is less likely to withdraw from negotiations and threaten to go to court as a bargaining tactic, because it is part of the agreement that to do so would mean having to instruct new solicitors.

Your Creative Divorce collaborative lawyer will support and advise you in preparing for the meetings, and will provide guidance during the structured discussions within the meetings.  Your collaborative lawyer is still your lawyer, acting for you, but they are committed to working together with the other collaborative lawyer to reach an outcome which suits the family as a whole. They will encourage you to think and talk around problems rather than adopting an aggressive or adversarial stance, and consider creative, unconventional ways of working things out, as well as noting where it might be helpful to bring in other professionals to advise and guide you on specific aspects of any arrangement.

Collaborative law is family-focused but you still need a good lawyer to help you through the negotiations. The solicitors and barristers who are part of Creative Divorce are leading lawyers in central London, recognised in the legal directories and within the profession for their expertise and excellence. Many are authors, lecturers and trainers of other lawyers. All of our practitioners are dedicated to finding better ways to help families and are committed to appropriate alternatives to the court based system, with some of them practising as mediators and arbitrators in addition to their collaborative practice.

Our Creative Divorce collaborative lawyers:

Debbie Chism

Solicitor and Collaborative lawyer

Stewarts Law LLP

Phone: +44 (0)20 7822 8023

Email: dchism@stewartslaw.com

Read Full Profile

Teertha Gupta QC

Barrister, Collaborative Lawyer and Mediator

4 Paper Buildings

Phone: +44 (0)20 7427 5200

Email: tg@4pb.com

Read Full Profile

Sara Hannell

Solicitor and Collaborative Lawyer

Alexiou Fisher Philipps

Phone: +44 (0)20 7409 1222

Email: shannell@afplaw.co.uk

Read Full Profile

Richard Harrison QC

Barrister and Collaborative Lawyer

1 King's Bench Walk

Phone: +44 (0)20 7936 1500

Email: rharrison@1kbw.co.uk

Read Full Profile

Emma Hatley

Solicitor, Collaborative Lawyer and Mediator

Stewarts Law LLP

Phone: +44 (0)20 7822 8024

Email: ehatley@stewartslaw.com

Read Full Profile

Margaret Hatwood

Solicitor and Collaborative Lawyer

Anthony Gold

Phone: +44 (0)20 7940 4000

Email: margaret.hatwood@anthonygold.co.uk

Read Full Profile

Laura Heaton

Barrister, Collaborative Lawyer and Mediator

29 Bedford Row

Phone: +44 (0)20 7404 1044

Email: lheaton@29br.co.uk

Read Full Profile

Elizabeth Hicks

Solicitor and Collaborative Lawyer

Irwin Mitchell LLP

Phone: +44 (0)20 7421 3966

Email: elizabeth.hicks@irwinmitchell.com

Read Full Profile

Grant Howell

Solicitor, Collaborative Lawyer and Arbitrator

Charles Russell Speechlys LLP

Phone: +44 (0)20 7203 5127

Email: grant.howell@crsblaw.com

Read Full Profile

Jane Keir

Solicitor and Collaborative Lawyer

Kingsley Napley

Phone: +44 (0)20 7814 1273

Email: jkeir@kingsleynapley.co.uk

Read Full Profile

Suzanne Kingston

Solicitor, Collaborative Lawyer, Mediator and Arbitrator

Withers LLP

Phone: +44 (0)20 7597 6632

suzanne.kingston@withersworldwide.com

Read Full Profile

William Massey

Solicitor and Collaborative Lawyer

Farrer & Co

Phone: +44 (0)20 3375 7000

Email: william.massey@farrer.co.uk

Read Full Profile

John Nicholson

Solicitor and Collaborative Lawyer

Irwin Mitchell LLP

Phone: +44 (0)20 7421 3988

Email: john.nicholson@irwinmitchell.com

Read Full Profile

Anna Worwood

Solicitor and Collaborative Lawyer

Penningtons Manches LLP

Phone: +44 (0)20 7872 8582

Email: anna.worwood@penningtons.co.uk

Read Full Profile